Search icon

IAH Awards announced in Brussels and online

The 2021 IAH awards were announced at the General Assembly (Annual General Meeting) of the Association, held on Tuesday 21 September during the Belgium congress and via YouTube livestream, and presented by members of IAH’s Executive.

The Presidents’ Award is determined by the current and past presidents. This year’s award was presented to Dr Judit Mádl-Szőnyi.

IAH’s Applied Hydrogeology Award is presented to “a groundwater professional who has made an outstanding contribution to the application of hydrogeology, preferably in developing countries or in support of international development”. Nominations are invited from IAH members in March of each year, and we are grateful to our new panel of David Ball, Rifaat Saaed Salim and Yanxin Wang for their careful considerations. The award for 2021 is presented to Maria Stella Lizarazo Rojas jointly with Paul Bauman.

The title of Honorary Member is from time to time given to those who have given exceptional services to IAH over a long period. Following a recommendation by Council, the General Assembly voted to approve Judith Flügge and Sophie Vermooten.

Finally, the IAH Distinguished Associate Award is presented to a person who is not a groundwater professional but has made an outstanding contribution to the understanding, development, management and protection of groundwater resources internationally. The Award is made by the IAH Executive Committee following consultation. This year the award was given to Gabriel Eckstein in acknowledgement of his contribution to the enhancement of policy and governance for groundwater protection worldwide.

We are sure you will join us in congratulating all of the worthy awardees; further information about each and the award presentations can be found via the link below.

Find out more

IAH Awards



Back to News