Search icon

Honorary Members, 2020

Ken Howard


Professor Ken Howard graduated from the University of Exeter in 1974 with Combined Honours in Physics and Geology, and obtained an MSc in Hydrogeology in 1975 and his PhD in 1979 from the University of Birmingham. He moved to the University of Toronto at Scarborough in 1981, becoming a full professor of hydrogeology with tenure in 1997. He has authored or co-authored more than 125 books and refereed journal articles and 40 full conference papers, produced numerous conference abstracts and made many invited presentations at conferences around the world.

Ken is certified as a hydrogeologist by the American Institute of Hydrology, chartered by the Geological Society of London and registered as a Professional Geoscientist with the Association of Professional Geoscientists of Ontario, Canada. His professional interests are broad and have ranged widely over the hydrogeological spectrum, but with special interest in the impacts of human activities on the quantity and quality of groundwater resources. His career has taken him across the world, to islands and continents, as a researcher, adviser to administrations and expert witness.

Ken has been a member of IAH since 1987. He was elected Chair of the IAH Commission on Groundwater in Urban Areas in 1997 and subsequently became Director of the IAH Urban Groundwater Network. He was elected to IAH Council in 2000, firstly as Regional Vice-president for North America and from 2008 as Vice-president for Scientific Programme Coordination. With his additional responsibilities on the IAH Executive Committee, he led the review and reform of the Association’s science commissions. In 2011 Ken received the President’s Award. He was Co-Chair of the organising committee for the 39th Congress of IAH held in Niagara Falls, Canada in 2012 and was special advisor to congresses in Australia in 2013 and South Korea in 2018. Ken was elected IAH President in 2012, stepping down to become Past President in 2016 and continuing his Council responsibilities until 2020.

For his long-term contribution to the work of the Association, Ken well deserves the award of Honorary Membership.

Cliff Voss

Cliff VossDr Voss received his bachelor’s degree in Physics from Bucknell University in 1971, attended a master’s degree program in Geophysics at Boston College until 1973, and received a master’s degree in Hydrology and Civil Engineering from Princeton University in 1975. He was awarded his PhD in Water Resources and Civil Engineering from Princeton in 1978.

Cliff is recognized as an international expert on groundwater modelling. The practical methodology and models he developed are in standard use worldwide. He consults extensively on groundwater system evaluation and management and he lectures worldwide. He has advised on nuclear waste repository safety, transboundary water resource management, sustainability of water supply, coastal saltwater intrusion, hydrology of cold regions, and potential climate-change impacts across the world.

Cliff received the prestigious IAH Presidents’ Award in 2005 and the NWWA-Association of Groundwater Scientists & Engineers Special Recognition Award in 1990. In 1998 Cliff was elected a Fellow of the Geological Society America (GSA) and in 2015 he was selected as the GSA Birdsall-Dreiss Distinguished Lecturer.

Since 1994, Cliff has been the Executive Editor of Hydrogeology Journal, the official journal of the IAH. During his twenty-six years of leadership, ‘HJ’ has become the leading international scientific forum for hydrogeology and its co-disciplines, with a large and still-increasing worldwide readership. Its articles cover theoretical advances in groundwater science and practical applications in groundwater-resource management. HJ is noted for its theme issues that Cliff organizes each year. Cliff has managed and nurtured all aspects of the Journal’s development: its direction, scope, and policy; staffing of the Editorial Office, Editors, and the Editorial Board of Associate Editors. He has coordinated the Journal’s management with the publisher, Springer Nature, and the IAH Executive Committee. He has ensured that Hydrogeology Journal remains a widely accessible forum for scientists, researchers, engineers, and practitioners in developing and industrialised countries alike.

For his long-term contribution to the work of the Association, Cliff fully deserves the award of Honorary Membership.

[Back to Awards page]