Search icon


The Council of IAH, appointed by election by the full membership every four years, is the Association’s governing body.  Our current Council was elected at the Online General Assembly in September 2020 and its members are listed below. You can find out more about each individual, including contact details, by clicking on their name.

In accordance with the Memorandum and Articles of IAH, Council may appoint an Executive Committee consisting of the President, the Secretary General, the Treasurer and as many of the other members of the Council as the President deems appropriate. The Council may from time to time give and delegate any of their powers to the Executive Committee and otherwise the Executive Committee shall exercise such delegated powers as are from time to time set out in the Rules.

IAH also has a small team of “Advisors to Council” representing different parts of the Association, who are also listed below.  The Advisors are called upon as necessary and do not have any voting rights on Council.

Prof. David Kreamer

IAH President, USA

Antonio Chambel

IAH Past President, Portugal

Jane Dottridge

Secretary General, UK

Dr Teodóra Szőcs

Vice President - Finance and Membership, Hungary

Pending election (update to follow)

Vice President, Programme and Science Coordination

Sarah Bourke

Vice President - Australasia and the Pacific, Australia

Natalia Vinograd

Vice President - Eastern Europe and Central Asia, Russia

Marco Petitta

Vice President - Europe (West and Central), Italy

Carlos Molano

Vice President - Latin America and the Caribbean, Colombia

Joanna Doummar

Vice President, Middle East and North Africa, Lebanon

Grant Ferguson

Vice President, North America, Canada

Seifu Kebede Gurmessa

Vice President - Sub Saharan Africa, Ethiopia & South Africa

Advisors to Council

Ian Davey

Executive Manager, United Kingdom

Nick Robins

Editor-in-Chief, Books, United Kingdom

Dr Cliff Voss

Executive Editor - Hydrogeology Journal, USA

Jared van Rooyen (South Africa)

Representative for Early Career Hydrogeologists, Canada