Search icon

Commissions and Networks

About our commissions and networks

The activities of IAH’s commissions and networks include contributing to the science of groundwater and undertaking outreach, education and training. They run sessions at IAH congresses, co-convene technical meetings and field excursions with other societies, host workshops and training courses and prepare educational and outreach publications. We welcome suggestions for new topics or activities – email ideas and comments to info@iah.org.

You do not have to be an IAH member to participate. In fact we encourage wide involvement from the groundwater community, as this will help the groups to thrive and give greater authority to their work.

Use the listings below to find out more about IAH’s commissions and networks and to make contact with them.

Commissions

Commission on Groundwater and Climate Change

Chair: Dr Tibor Stigter (Netherlands) (t.stigter@un-ihe.org)

Commission on Groundwater and Energy

Chair: Grant Ferguson (Canada) (grant.ferguson@usask.ca>)
Co-Chair: Bridget Scanlon (USA) and Rob Ward (UK)

Commission on Groundwater Quality

Chair: Dan Lapworth (UK) (djla@bgs.ac.uk)
Co-Chair: TBC (TBC)
Website: http://TBC

Commission on Karst Hydrogeology

Co-Chair: Augusto Auler (Brazil); Zoran Stevanovic (Serbia); Zhang Cheng (China) (aauler@gmail.com; zstev_2000@yahoo.co.uk; chzhang@karst.ac.cn)

Commission on Managing Aquifer Recharge

Co-Chair: (in alphabetical order): Enrique Fernández Escalante, Catalin Stefan and Yan Zheng (efernan6@tragsa.es; catalin.stefan@tu-dresden.de; yan.zheng@sustech.edu.cn)

Commission on Mineral and Thermal Waters

Chair: Dr Jim Lamoreaux (USA) (JLamoreaux@pela.com)
Co-Chair: Dr Adam Porowski (Poland) (adamp@twarda.pan.pl)

Commission on Regional Groundwater Flow

Chair: Judit Mádl-Szőnyi (Hungary) (szjudit@ludens.elte.hu)
Co-Chair: Okke Batelaan (Australia), Xiaowei Jiang (China), Hanneke Verweij (the Netherlands), Fadoua Hamzaoui Azaza (Tunisia), René Lebvre - John Molson (Canada), José Joel Carrillo-Rivera (Mexico) (adam.geophysics@gmail.com (secretary))

Commission on Transboundary Aquifers

Chair: Shammy Puri (ShammyPuri@aol.com)
Co-Chair: Karen Villholth, Gabriel Eckstein and Geert-Jan Nijsten (k.villholth@cgiar.org; gabrieleckstein@law.tamu.edu; geert-jan.nijsten@un-igrac.org)

Networks

Burdon Groundwater Network for International Development

Director: Alan MacDonald (UK) (amm@bgs.ac.uk)
Co-Director: Viviana Re (re.viviana@gmail.com)

Early Career Hydrogeologists’ Network

Director: Jared van Rooyen (South Africa) (jvanrooyen121@gmail.com)
Co-Director: Stefania Stevenazzi (stefania.stevenazzi@unimi.it)

Network for Coastal Aquifer Dynamics and Coastal Zone Management (CAD-CZM)

Director: Dr Giuseppe Sappa, Italy (giuseppe.sappa@uniroma1.it)
Co-Director: Yossi Yechieli, Israel (yechieli@gsi.gov.il)

Network on Fractured Rock Hydrogeology

Director: Uwe Troeger (uwe.troeger@tu-berlin.de)

Network on Groundwater and Ecosystems

Director: Joseph Gurrieri, USA (jgurrieri@fs.fed.us)
Co-Director: Mike Wireman, USA (Wireman.Mike@epamail.epa.gov)

Socio-Hydrogeology Network

Director: Viviana Re (Italy) (viviana.re@unipi.it)
Co-Director: Shrikant Limaye (India); Theresa Frommen (Germany)

Urban Groundwater Network

Director: Helen Fallas (née Bonsor, UK) (hfallas@bgs.ac.uk)